iWork 05 vs iWork 06

This forum is a self-help system for the exchange of ideas among iWork users.

iWork 05 vs iWork 06

Postby eoin09 » Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:25 am

Hi

I'm new to mac's and am seriously stretching my budget getting one. Hence i am trying to cut costs where posible. iWork 06 is £55, bt i have found the '05 edtion for £30.

My question is, what is the diference between the 2 versions? And is '06 worth almost double the money?
eoin09

Re: iWork 05 vs iWork 06

Postby TerryKeelan » Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:52 am

If iWork 08 is available, get that instead of 06.

there's a reason 05 is nearly half the price of 06 - it's half the program. It's been a long while since I've used 05 and I cannot recall the specific differences, although I believe one is the ability to create a table of contents. I do recall being impressed with what I thought were major improvements in 06 over 05.

Good luck,

Terry

eoin09 wrote:Hi

I'm new to mac's and am seriously stretching my budget getting one. Hence i am trying to cut costs where posible. iWork 06 is £55, bt i have found the '05 edtion for £30.

My question is, what is the diference between the 2 versions? And is '06 worth almost double the money?
TerryKeelan

Re: iWork 05 vs iWork 06

Postby TerryKeelan » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:03 am

This is the description of the 'new' features in 06, relative to 05, from its Help file:

Over 20 new templates
There are templates that help you create posters, flyers, an education scrapbook, storyboards, and newsletters. New business templates feature a report, a proposal, meeting notes, even an expense report that automatically calculates costs. Learn more

Address Book support
You can personalize your documents by using names, phone numbers, addresses, and other data defined for contacts in Address Book. This feature, sometimes referred to as mail merge, lets you reuse documents, such as letters and contracts, for multiple individuals. Learn more